Universitas Surabaya, Surabaya

Founded in 1968, the University of Surabaya (Ubaya) is one of the leading private universities in Indonesia and Asia-the Pacific region Some of its study programmes have been internationally been accredited, such as Industrial Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Chemical Engineering and Master of Management.

The University has a network of more than 200 higher education institutions nationally and internationally. Ubaya’s mission is to advance the business and industrial community and societal welfare through teaching, research, and community service.

Ubaya has eight Faculties including the Faculty of Pharmacy, Faculty of Law, Faculty of Business and Economics, Faculty of Psychology, Faculty of Engineering, Faculty of Biotechnology, Faculty of Creative Industry, and Faculty of Medicine. The university provides first class facilities with extensive teaching and research support to its 12,000 students.

Seeing the importance of disaster management in Indonesia, Ubaya is going to establish Ubaya Centre For Disaster Management involving academics from multiple departments including Industrial Engineering, Informatics Engineering, Business and Economics, Psychology, and Medicine. The centre will operate under the Ubaya Institute of Research and Community Service and its purpose is to maximise the impact and exposure of the emerging BUiLD Disaster Management Framework and to work in partnership with government agencies, NGOs and other parties involved in disaster management.